As promised, I’ve got 6 web sites today looking at good design and bad design. Of course, it’s all relative. I had a hell of a time getting these pictures to look just OK in the previous post and I imagine this one won’t be any easier. That’s the downside of working with a template – it’s not always the right fit. So while this could be construed as the pot calling the kettle black, I do realize my layout leaves a lot to be desired. I’m just not letting that get in the way of getting the post out the door. (I’ve promised myself that any post started *will* get posted.) On to the comparisons, and keep in mind these aren’t the worst or best I’ve ever seen – just the ones I’ve seen today:

Web Sites with Poor Design

  1. Poor Design - online print site Ex 1

    Poor Design - online print site Ex 1

    Online Printing site: At first glance this is not bad. There’s a nice order to the informational images near the top. However, the block of text below those is too dense. The line length is too long to comfortably read, the line height is too close, and the font size is too small. Also, the left column of navigation buttons is almost overwhelming.

  2. Poor Design - online print site Ex 2

    Poor Design - online print site Ex 2

    Another Online Printing site: Obviously, this page isn’t plagued with densely packed text, however the pricing table is almost impossible to read without holding a piece of paper up the screen so your eye can follow the line to a particular data point. Not to mention, the font size will make your eyes cross trying to discern that much information.

  3. Poor Design - online print site Ex 3

    Poor Design - online print site Ex 3

    One more Online Printing site: I’m not saying online printing sites are notorious for poor design, I’m just showing what I’ve found. This is the home page, scrolled down the page just a bit to show the absolutely dense section of text that *no one* will actually read. Add to that the plethora of little boxes all around and I’m not sure where to look first.

Web Sites with Good Design

  1. Good Design - Ex 1 web design site

    Good Design - Ex 1 web design site

    Web Site about web design: This is one of the definitive sites for reading about good web site design, so, as expected, it has a nice layout. There’s plenty of white space for the eye to rest and the layout is reminiscent of an upscale magazine. (Actually, for good layout, this site is in my top ten favorites.)

  2. Good Design - Ex 2 movie rental site

    Good Design - Ex 2 movie rental site

    Online Movie Rental site: For ease of use, this site is tops. That ease of use springs directly from the layout. If the layout is so dense that it’s hard to find what you’re looking for, then the layout is a FAIL. There’s an immense amount of information on this page, but the layout ensures it’s not overwhelming.

  3. Good Design - Ex 3 blogging site

    Good Design - Ex 3 blogging site

    A Popular Blogging site: Again, lot’s of choices on this page, but they are not so densely packed as to be a turn off. The information is accessible and nicely ordered with enough white space for each element to be independent, yet part of the overall layout.

Well, that’s all I’ve got. Do you agree or disagree with the reasoning behind my choices? What are some sites that stand out for you as particularly good or bad? Let me know in the comments.

