I was first introduced to the world wide web in 1992 by my brother. I found it fascinating and wonderful and compelling and ugly and awesome. And, it was something very few people knew about. I remember when I lived in Chicago, my brother and I would always point out the URLs we saw in ads, usually on the sides of buses, because they were so rare.  That was 1993/1994.

Homepage for Morgan Adams website (2001)

Homepage for Morgan Adams website (2001)

Fast forward a bit, and I had the opportunity to put my fascination to work. I had learned quite a bit about website construction and disliked most of what I saw. (If you’re ever curious about early website “design”, check out the Wayback Machine for some gross examples.) I started creating websites, for pay even, and getting complements on them, which was even better – not that I’m dissing a good pay check, mind you.

What I liked most about my work was making the information accessible. Most people were putting wizzbangs and fugliness on the sites to make them eye-catching, but in turn, rendering them almost useless. My mission was to make clean, simple, useful websites that gave people the information they wanted in the least amount of clicks.

Injury Law page of Morgan Adams website (2001)

Injury Law page of Morgan Adams website (2001)

Fast forward again to today and that’s still my goal. However, I’m playing catch-up because I took some time out to be a stay-at-home parent and the technology passed me by. When I went back to work I was mainly working on internal sites for clients where I was not the developer, but the maintenance tech. So, I can’t wait to find out the answers to questions I’ve wondered about, but not found the answers to, like why was <bold> replaced with <strong>. I know it’s standard now, but haven’t discovered the reasoning behind it.

