Click to view larger image

Click to view larger image

I’ve had a niggling feeling that something wasn’t right about my final image for Project 1.3. Last night I was looking at it again and noticed the feeling centered around the child on the right hand side. I decided to remove that image and found that the child had been blocking the overall flow.

I’ve also been looking at the message from a more right-brained perspective. In other words, what was my subconscious working on while I was consciously thinking about “Electronic Workers?” (For more about “Electronic Workers”, see previous post.) Removing the child on the right opens the picture up to a completely different and , I think, much stronger interpretation. Now it conveys a positive view of alternative energy – one in which the viewer is smart to choose green energy and has the opportunity to join a mass movement embracing that choice. Removing the child also completely reveals the blades of the wind turbine, which looks similar to a cross, evoking the feeling that alternative energy is the salvation of the future. The “Electronic Workers” would then be those people working to make this future a reality.

